This solution shows you how to add, manage, and delete users added to Smart Home Hub using SmartThings Connect app. It forms part of a broader guide on managing and using Smart Home Hub which can be found here   


a.
Add a new Member


Smart Home Hub allows you to include family members or additional users to have control over Smart Home Hub connected devices. 


Member(s) have almost the same permissions to view and control the Location and associated devices and automation. But there are a few exceptions:

  • Members cannot add or remove members.
  • Members cannot delete a location. They can only leave the Location and relinquish access.
  • Members cannot delete devices that were added by the owner or other members. They can delete devices that they have added to the Location from their account.


a.1. Invite with Email


Steps

  1. From the Home screen, tap the Plus (+) icon
  2. Tap Member
  3. Tap Send an invitation
  4. Enter the email address of the user you want to add.
  5. Then tap Send
  6. The recipient must respond and access the invitation before the time expires within 30 days of sending the invitation.


a.2. Invite with QR Code


Steps

  1. From SmartThings Home screen, tap the Plus (+) icon
  2. Tap Member
  3. Tap Use a QR code
  4. Have the new user scan the QR code on their phone by:
    1. Download SmartThings Connect
    2. Sign up for a SmartThings account
    3. Log in
    4. Tap the Menu icon (top left corner)
    5. Tap Member
    6. Tap More Options (More Options icon)
    7. Tap Accept QR code invitation
    8. Then scan the QR code



b.
Remove Member(s)


If any Member(s)  needs to be removed, they can easily be removed following this section.


Steps

  1. From the Home screen, tap the Menu icon
  2. Tap Member
  3. Tap More Options (More Options icon)
  4. Tap Edit
  5. Select the member(s)
  6. Tap Remove




c.
Leaving a location as a Member


Members have the capability to leave the location and relinquish access whenever they want to but cannot delete the location.


Steps

  1. From the Home screen, tap the Menu icon
  2. Tap Member
  3. Tap More Options (More Options icon)
  4. Tap Leave this location
  5. Tap Confirm




Back to - Table of contents

Next page - Smart Home Hub settings